Encyclopedia of Appalachia
Footer images

UT Press
110 Conference Center
600 Henley St.
Knoxville, TN 37996-4108

Phone: 865-974-3321
Fax: 865-974-3724 [email protected]


Advisory Board

Noah Adams, National Public Radio
Marilou Awiakta, Poet, Storyteller, Essayist
The Honorable Howard H. Baker Jr., Former U.S. Ambassador To Japan
The Honorable Rick Boucher, U.S. House Of Representatives, Virginia
Daniel W. Brown, Superintendent, Blue Ridge Parkway
Wilma Dykeman, Author, Historian, Lecturer
Gary Everhardt, Former Superintendent, Blue Ridge Parkway
Henry Louis Gates Jr., Chair, Department Of African And African American Studies; Director, W. E. B. Du Bois Institute For African And African American Research, Harvard University
The Honorable Nancy Hollister, Former State Representative, Ohio
The Honorable Amory Houghton Jr.,
Former U.S. Representative, New York
The Honorable Bill Jenkins, U.S. House Of Representatives, Tennessee
Bill Kovach, Journalist, Former Curator, Nieman Foundation
Juanita Morris Kreps, U.S. Secretary Of Commerce (1977–1979),
Vice President Emeritus, Duke University
Alice Manicur, Vice President For Student And Educational Services,
Frostburg State University
David Mccullough, Author And Historian
Zell Bryan Miller, Former U.S. Senator, Georgia
Roy S. Nicks, Chancellor Emeritus, Tennessee Board Of Regents
Anne Pope, Federal Co-Chair, Appalachian Regional Commission
Jean Ritchie, Singer, Songwriter, Folklorist
Albert P. Smith Jr., Journalist
Lee Smith, Novelist, Former Professor Of English,
North Carolina State University
Ross Spears Iii, Documentary Filmmaker, Director, James Agee Film Project
Jane B. Stephenson, Appalachian Director, Steele-Reese Foundation
Jesse L. White, Former Federal Co-Chair, Appalachian Regional Commission